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Applicant’s Legal Name (First, Middle, Last) or Firm Name						      DL/FEIN/Tribal ID/Corp ID*

Co-Applicant’s Legal Name (First, Middle, Last)								        DL/FEIN/Tribal ID/Corp ID*

Mailing Address				    City				    State	 Zip Code		  County

Residential Address				   City				    State	 Zip Code		  County

Email 									         Phone Number

1

Vehicle Identification Number						      Year	                Make

Model			           Body Style		     Color		       Weight (if applicable)          Ton (if applicable)	 CCs (if applicable)

Vessel MT Number		          Vessel Length	   	    Vessel Use	      Vessel Propulsion              Vessel Material	 Vessel Type
			           FT.                 IN.

Who did you acquire the vehicle from?						                Date Acquired	     Vehicle Value

Address							            City			                     State	     Zip Code
   

          Is there a security interest or lien against this vehicle?
No – continue to next applicable section
Yes – Complete Montana Security Interest Processing: New (Form MV81B) and submit a fee of $8.24 for each security interest or lien. 

By checking this box I confirm that I have exhausted all steps to locate the existing title or secure a replacement title for the vehicle on 
this application.

This form may be used when an applicant cannot provide a certificate of title assigning the prior owner’s interest in a vehicle. Follow 
the instructions at the bottom of page 2 and attach all additional materials. 
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The vehicle meets Mechanically Functional Condition: 
Under penalty of law (MCA 45-7-203) I certify this vehicle is in mechanically functional condition as defined above. 

The vehicle value equals or is greater than $1000, as determined by NADA’s national appraisal guide, the buyer must obtain a three-year bond 
from a surety company, authorized to do business in Montana, in an amount equal to the vehicle value pursuant to Montana Code 61-3-208.
The vehicle value is less than $1000, as determined by the National Appraisal Guide, no bond is required.

The vehicle does NOT meet Mechanically Functional Condition: A Bill of Sale (Form MV24) is required certifying condition and value of the vehicle.
Under penalty of law (MCA 45-7-203) I certify this vehicle is NOT in mechanically functional condition as defined above. 

The vehicle value is equal or greater than $1000, as determined by the MV24, a bond in the value as determined by the MV24 is required. 
The vehicle value is less than $1000, as determined by the MV24, no bond is required.

Note: the Motor Vehicle Division reserves the right to investigate the value of the vehicle. 

Declare Vehicle Condition – This applies to most vehicles excluding manufactured homes, slide-in truck campers, off-highway vehicles not 
licensed for street use, motorboats, personal watercraft, sailboats or snowmobiles.

*Mechanically Functional Condition means needing only minor reconditioning; the exterior paint, trim, and interior would show normal wear; 
  mostly usable “as-is”. This does not represent a “parts car” or a “non-running vehicle”.

4

5

6 A Manufactured Home must be valued by the county assessor. If the value of the manufactured home is over $1000, a surety bond is required. 
I certify under penalty of law (MCA 45-7-203) that the value listed below is correct.
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Assessed Date:			   Assessed By:					               Value:
							           print name

This vehicle is a slide-in truck camper, off-highway vehicle (not licensed for street use), motorboat, personal watercraft, sailboat or snow-
mobile. A surety bond is not required. 

Please complete the section (5, 6, or 7) which is appropriate to the vehicle type. 
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Under penalty of law (MCA 45-7-203) the statements made and information contained on this form (page 1 and 2) are true and correct 
to the best of my knowledge, information, and belief, and if signing for a business entity or trust, I have full authority to do so. 

Notary Use Only	 	 Do not notarize or verify unless signed in your presence and printed name of applicant is listed.

Printed Name: 									       
											           DL/FEIN/Tribal ID/Corp ID*

Signature: 	
		  This is my legal signature							       Date

State of			   County of			          Signed before me on (date)      Notary Stamp/Seal		

By (clearly print name of person signing form)

Notary signature

Instructions
1.	 Have a law enforcement officer complete a Stage 1 Vehicle/OHV Identification Number Inspection (Form MV20). Visit dojmt.gov/driving/forms for 

inspection information. 
	◆ If the vehicle is in another state:

	ӹ The vehicle inspection (Form MV20) must be completed by a sworn law enforcement officer from that other state.  If the state allows a 
third-party to inspect vehicles as part of their title and registration process, the third party may inspect the vehicle in lieu of law enforcement.

	ӹ The application must be accompanied by a photocopy of the law enforcement officer’s identification card or business card, or the third 
parties credential recognizing them as a third-party inspector by the state.

2.	 Attach Proof of purchase (e.g., bill of sale, canceled check cleared by bank, invoice, etc.)
3.	 Photographs of the vehicle must be submitted with a Level 1 Vehicle/OHV Identification Number Inspection (Form MV20) showing (1) the 

majority of the vehicle; (2) the public VIN number; and (3) for vehicle year 2011 and newer, the odometer at the time of inspection.
4.	 For vehicles 1981 and newer, a copy of the National Motor Vehicle Titling Information System (NMVTIS) data report obtained by an approved 

provider found on the NMVTIS website, https://www.vehiclehistory.gov/index.html, showing title information from other states, applicable 
brands, liens or stolen vehicle information. For more information on how to obtain a report, follow the link https://bit.ly/2TGRkE7.

5.	 If applicable, attach completed Montana Security Interest Processing: New (Form MV81B) and submit a fee of $8.24 for each security interest 
or lien. 

6.	 If the vehicle is not in mechanically functional condition, attach a completed Bill of Sale (Form MV24).
7.	 A Manufactured Home must be valued by the county assessor. If the value of the manufactured home is over $1000, a surety bond is re-

quired. 
8.	 If the vehicle is a slide-in truck camper, off-highway vehicle (not licensed for street use), motorboat, personal watercraft, sailboat or snow-

mobile. A surety bond is not required. 
9.	 The applicant must sign Section 8 and have their signature notarized.
10.	 Title and Registration

	◆ If you wish to title and register the vehicle, take the documents outlined above to your county treasurer's office to apply for a title and 
obtain registration and license plates. 

	◆ If you wish to only title the vehicle, send the documents outlined above and applicable fees shown below directly to the Vehicle Services 
Bureau:
	ӹ Applicable fees: $12.36 for light vehicles, trucks and buses - all weighing one ton or less; $10.30 for all other vehicles (fees include 

3% administration fee per MCA 61-3-111)
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