Open Hours Mon - Fri 8.00 am - 5.00 pm

Welcome to Roosevelt County Montana

Roosevelt County is located in the U.S. state of Montana. As of the 2020 census, the population of Roosevelt County is 10,794. The county seat is Wolf Point. Roosevelt County was created by the Montana Legislature in 1919 from Sheridan County. The name honors former president Theodore Roosevelt, who had died shortly before the county was formed. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,370 square miles (6,100 km2), of which, 2,356 square miles (6,100 km2) of it is land and 14 square miles (36 km2) of it (0.59%) is water. Over 74 percent of the county’s land area lies within the Fort Peck Indian Reservation. In May of 1805, the Lewis & Clark expedition camped on the Missouri River south of the present day city of Wolf Point. Fort Buford and Fort Union are located on the Missouri River at the southeast corner of Roosevelt County and North Dakota.

Calendar Events

Roosevelt County Growth Policy

Roosevelt County has received a Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) award to pay for the creation of a Growth Policy; a document that provides a foundational set of policies to guide a community’s physical and economic development.
Roosevelt County does not currently have a Growth Policy and is need of a plan to assist with guiding future growth and development in the County. Counties are enabled to create and implement a Growth Policy under MCA 76-1-601. 

Through a public proposal process, the County Commissioners selected Interstate Engineering, a local consulting firm with rural development experts, to assist the County with the creation of a Growth Policy.

Roosevelt County Growth Plan

Learn More

Capital Improvement Plan

Learn More